I Hate Fireworks Games

Colors and explosions in the sky above the Coliseum are the bane of my existence. (Photo: Omar Gonzalez/Right Field Bleachers)

One of the few times when repeated explosions in East Oakland doesn’t mean a drive-by is going down. (Photo: Omar Gonzalez – Right Field Bleachers)

The title of this entry says it all. I can’t think of one thing I like about fireworks games. That’s not to say that I don’t like fireworks, but I’ve already seen plenty of fireworks in my lifetime. Every time I watch a show I’m really not getting anything new. It’s fun for about five seconds. Having fireworks at A’s games are great for the casual fans or those with families, but it sucks for people like me who only want to watch baseball and have to deal with the logistical nightmare of trying to exit the stadium maintaining sanity. Last night’s game, a frustrating 3-2 loss to the Mariners, was the epitome of why I seriously consider staying home every time there are fireworks.

I had a pretty busy day before the game, and my tiredness combined with the fact it was a fireworks night seriously made me question if I even wanted to go. Fireworks games are usually more trouble than they’re worth for me. The stadium is always packed, security guards go on power trips, and the BART ramp closes at the end of the 8th inning. When I used to park at BART it was a huge hassle and I would have to walk around the entire stadium just to get out. I figured I had found the solution to that problem with my new parking spot just outside the main parking lot entrance on San Leandro Street, but Coliseum security has managed to screw that up as well.

For whatever reason this season, at the conclusion of fireworks games security fences off the middle portion of the bleacher concourse, making it so that people in the right field bleachers can’t walk towards left field, and vice versa. In order to get out of the stadium from the bleachers, they want us to walk all the way around the stadium, fighting through the throng of drunken young adults and stressed out parents just trying to keep track of their kids. So if you parked on the north side of the stadium but your seat was toward the south side (like me), you’re completely screwed and you’ll end up taking a small tour of the Coliseum.

Never mind that letting us go through that area would literally take 10 seconds. They want us to waste 10 minutes and add to all the insanity of 30,000+ in packed concourses moving in every different direction possible. A few of us tried negotiating our way through, and when that failed we attempted to rush the gate, but to no avail. Funny enough, security was doing such a shit job they let a few stragglers from left field pass through, and when I pointed it out they just said not to worry about it. Good job enforcing the rules and making it equal for everybody.

As if that wasn’t enough, I finally make it outside and walk to my car with the intention to move into the parking lot at the bleacher crew tailgate spot. Keep in mind that I do this after every game and there’s never a problem. However, for whatever reason, I drive through the gate and start heading toward Lot A when two security guards yell at me to stop. Not seeing a reason why I had to, I kept driving, but as I creep along another guard on a golf cart starts yelling at me and saying he’ll get my car towed out of the lot.

I yelled back that I’m simply moving my car like I always do, but as I keep going this dingbat in the cart starts following me. I get to the tailgate spot and look for an open parking space, but golf cart super guard is still right on my ass and yelling nonsense. Not wanting to get into an argument, I just turned around and drove right back out. I then drove around to the south side of the stadium, where there were no security guards and people were free to move as they pleased. I parked my car and walked around the entire stadium AGAIN just to get back to the tailgate spot.

All in all, I wasted about 30 minutes just trying to leave the stadium and move my car, for absolutely no reason whatsoever except stupid ass security procedures. Fireworks games have always been a pain in my ass, but it’s never been nearly as bad as the two we’ve had so far this season. Part of me has a right mind to go to Ticket Services and bitch, but it most likely won’t do any good anyway. In the future, I’m either going to skip fireworks games completely or exit to the parking lot in the 8th inning to avoid the hassle.

This entry was posted in 2013 Season, Bleacher Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I Hate Fireworks Games

  1. jg says:

    We lined up during the 8th inning and there was already a bunch of people there. It was cool taking my kids on the field to see the fireworks but we also enjoy watching the A’s play. I wanted to slap the douche who kept yelling “let us in!”. Seriously dude?! Its the 8th inning. Do you really think that they’re going to stop the game right now just so your stupid ass can get inside?! My 2 year old didn’t even stay up thru the show he fell asleep when we were in line. It was cool taking a pic in front of the AL West champs sign tho (even if I was holding my sleeping kid)

  2. Lucky S. says:

    I was more angry about the huge line of people trying to get on the field. I was thinking that my cousins and I would be the first ones in line after leaving our seats after the last out was made but I couldn’t have been more wrong. The line was gigantic!! These people must have been lined up since the 7th inning. Overall I enjoy the fireworks as I enjoyed being on the fresh outfield grass and taking pictures near the dead center 400 feet marker and the scoreboards. Just walking on the warning track was pretty awesome too and my little cousins loved it and the fireworks were just the cherry on top. We were also a few rows away from the Chris Young homer. 😀

    • Dennis Biles says:

      Oh man, the line of people trying to get on the field is always a huge hassle. I’ve been down there a few times before and it’s like herding cattle. However, going on the field is always fun, no matter what the occasion. I’m glad you and your family had a good time, because that’s what a ball game is all about.

      Thanks for taking the time to read and comment! I hope you keep reading! Go A’s!!!

Leave a Reply

