We’re Putting The Blog Back Together

Yes, Life In Right is back, but I’m sad to admit that I’m not on a mission from God. (Photo courtesy of Wikipedia)

Well folks, after a mere 378 days I have finally returned from the “short” hiatus I announced in my last entry. I apologize for the long layoff, but it was impossible to get going again once I shut it down. I really wanted to get back in the swing of things as last season progressed, but after having completed the requirements for my project I just wanted to rest for the summer and enjoy baseball. Just because I’m an honor student doesn’t mean I’m not extremely lazy. Now that I’ve graduated from college and with the A’s playing some kick ass baseball, I figured this would be a great time to perform a resurrection.

And so the Disciples prayed. And on the 378th day, Life In Right returned. (Photo courtesy of Wikipedia)

And so the Disciples prayed. And on the 378th day, Life In Right returned. (Photo courtesy of Wikipedia)

It’s a pretty obvious understatement to say that a lot has happened since I last made an entry. Hell, on the date of the last entry, May 25, 2012, the A’s had a 22-24 record after losing 6-3 to the Yankees on the road. It was the third loss in the row for the A’s, and the skid ended up dragging on for nine games until a June 2 victory against the Royals. I figured the A’s were toast by starting June with a 22-30 record, but then something incredibly unexpected happened: The A’s began playing like the best team in baseball.

Even for A’s fans who have grown accustomed to seeing the team catch fire in the later stages of the season, there was nothing that could’ve prepared us for a run like they had. Before June 2, the team showed absolutely no signs of being competitive, let alone a playoff contender. But a 15-12 June record, followed by an almost unfathomable 19-5 clip in July and an 18-10 mark in August, put the team right in the thick of the playoff race.

Eventually, the A’s took the division lead from the Rangers in a head-to-head victory on the last day of the season, thanks in part to an outfielder who now plies his trade in Southern California that neglected to use two hands.

Thanks, Josh.

Unfortunately, the A’s couldn’t quite keep the magic going in the playoffs, at least not long enough. We all remember the dramatics of Game 4 of the ALDS against the Tigers, and after that game I thought there was no way the A’s could lose, but Justin Verlander and home plate umpire Wally Bell combined to limit the A’s to four hits and one walk over nine innings in a depressing 6-0 Game 5 defeat.

Verlander and Parker zones

Pretty much sums it up. (Photo courtesy of MLB Memes)

Just so you don’t think this is a case of sour grapes, check out Verlander’s pitch chart from that game.

You could drive a Buick through this “strike zone.” (Graphic courtesy of Fan Graphs)

See those orange-ish red squares that are up to a foot and half off the plate? Wally Bell thought those were strikes. There’s at least 10 ridiculous strikes calls on this chart.

But hey, that was way back in October, and it’s June now. I just wanted to gloss over last year so as to get “caught up” in a way. So now that I’m blogging again and we’ve re-lived some of the thrills from last season, I can get to work on getting this thing back on track. I was pleasantly surprised when I logged in that I didn’t have a bunch of spam comments to clean up, and all of the content was exactly how I left it, so it won’t take much of an effort to get rolling again.

I should be posting daily so be sure to check it out. As always, if you have any suggestions or ideas please don’t hesitate to post a comment, message me on Facebook, or track me down in Section 149.

This entry was posted in 2012 Season, 2013 Season, Bleacher Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to We’re Putting The Blog Back Together

  1. Cynthia says:

    Glad to see you getting back on base with the blog.

Leave a Reply

